Msh 3ayza Atgawez Means A Bad Girl (1)


Girl and broken window

Being a feminist is not all ’bout women rights and freedom, the one true drive behind feminism is respect.

Right now, the need for respect is building the revolution of women that will change the picture men of this era created of females.

As a middle eastern young woman, I first thought its just this area of the world that treat women with much disrespect. Nothing changed except knowing that even if women here are treated with much disrespect, in everywhere in the world women are being treated unfairly in almost every possible way.

But to be more accurate I will only mention the things I observed around me generally.

“Msh 3ayza Atgawez” my title which means literally I don’t want to get married is pretty much considered a forbidden line that turns a good woman to a ‘bad‘ one in front of this society, that considers a woman without a man either ‘bad’ or ‘insane’.

With bad here I meant like the same way western societies look at a man with many affairs as a ‘Playboy‘ but if its a woman it makes her a ‘Slut’.

This is how bad they consider a woman who refuses the whole idealistic marriage idea.

As a 20 something here its official that I should be in the market as a product available for marriage, I did not like that and I made a statement to make it clear Msh 3ayza Atgawez.

It was like waking a sleeping volcano in a very disturbing climate, things changed from normal colors to black and the worst when my mother said I looked like a whore when I said that.

The disagreement between us “me and my mum” is quite normal with every subject, but this time it really developed to a very dangerous point.

Suddenly I went from a normal daughter to a girl my mum can’t trust and need to monitor her every move, going out makes her feel like I will run away from that lovely squashing prison that I call home, any idea of developing in my career away from her firm grip on me and my life is obviously refused to the point that sometimes I feel like she will lock me home just to make sure I won’t even go to work.

The issue between me and my mum is not the real problem, its being itemized as ‘bad’ just ’cause I refuse to have a man in my life.

I’m a normal girl who date and go out, work and go shopping, independent compared to everyone in my age, hard working with a promising future, so now do I really need a man in my life??? My answer is no, my society would say yes BECAUSE its how its supposed to be.

I can’t live, dream or breathe until I marry someone and officially then I will be considered a human being, by then I would be considered someone’s wife and the society would say that he’s my priority now which would cancel living dreaming and breathing again.

So I either accept or turn into ‘bad’?

Another problem that I saw around is that many girls actually believe that they are nothing without a husband!!!

I can’t possibly think of that as normal even with everyone around giving me that look that says you re just a crazy bitch, I certainly can’t even understand the reasons behind believing in such a thing!!!… [To be continued]

9 responses to “Msh 3ayza Atgawez Means A Bad Girl (1)

  1. I’m not religious by nature I’m more of a spiritual kind of person, I don’t believe that religion “or politics honestly” should effect the way we live, think or behave. I don’t really put much thoughts into religion or politics. Anyway I agree to that part you said that we should think, I believe that no matter what everyone believe in they must always stop and think…

  2. I Doubt if people mislead other people by some mere Words of a Wholy Book !! I in no way am Targetting any Religion But you know I wanna make a Point here is that If we allow our Mind to Think We by ourself Can Understand What is Wright and What is Wrong !! Part of the Blame i Give to all Religions Who Does Not Preach to Respect Womens !! What do u say About Religions !! ???

  3. Egypt, thank you for your words and thoughts I really do appreciate them. And special thanks for dropping by my blog and so much more thanks for reading… And I will keep writing and fighting with my words ^^

  4. Yes !!! You are from Which Country ?? Anyways I want you to Write About such Upliftments … People Need to Come Forward !! And the Society needs to go under some Reforms !!! You need to Protest of your Right !! My Thoughts are With you !! Your Country and Area !

  5. I do agree to the Limit point you said, but here is basically some arrogant people putting rules to limit the freedom of women. No matter what or where we look I can’t find it normal at all to disrespect a woman for a simple choice she made for her own life?!! Its simple from the outside but its a hugely rooted issue down the surface…

  6. See But One needs to Take a Look at the Place He/She is Living… You Know there are places Where People are Liberal and Contended WITH THE work or the Environment they Surround. It is Difficult to say that One has Ultimate freedom to behave .. But you know I believe there is a Limit to Everything except the Universe !

  7. Thank you, I really appreciate your words but unfortunately for some reason some people think that they have some sort of a divine right to judge others and they exist everywhere…

Leave a Reply

